Between now and the shutdown, we recommend you let your followers know where they can see your content outside of Google+. Consider creating a post that lists your website, blog, social media channels, and other ways to stay in touch.
As part of the consumer Google+ shutdown, we are deleting content from consumer Google+ accounts (other than content we’re required to keep for legal reasons). Photos and videos from Google+ in your Album Archive and your Google+ pages will also be deleted. You can download and save your content, just make sure to do so before April. Note that your photos and videos backed up in Google Photos will not be deleted.
Yes, your access to other Google services will not be impacted by the Google+ shutdown.
On April 2nd, your Google+ account and any Google+ pages you created will be shut down and we will begin deleting content from consumer Google+ accounts. Photos and videos from Google+ in your Album Archive and your Google+ pages will also be deleted. You can download and save your content, just make sure to do so before April.
You can download and save your Google+ data, including your Circles, Communities, Streams, and +1s.
Yes. See this help article to learn more about what happens when you delete your Google+ profile. Make sure to download and save any Google+ data you want to keep before deleting your Google+ account or page.
Community owners and moderators may download and save data for their Google+ Communities. Currently, this downloaded data only includes links to community posts. Starting early March 2019, you will also be able to download additional details from public communities, including author, body, and photos for every community post. See this help article under "Google+ Communities."
No, photos and videos from Google+ in Album Archive and photos and videos from your Google+ brand account will be deleted as early as April 2, 2019. You can download and save your content, just make sure to do so before April.
Photos and videos backed up in Google Photos will not be deleted. Note that some photos and videos uploaded from Google+ may remain available in Google Photos. These photos and videos will remain in Google Photos after the Google+ shutdown:
Photos and videos uploaded to Google+ before Google Photos launched in 2015
Photos and videos backed up at any time using older versions of Google+ mobile apps (from 2015 or earlier)
Photos and videos that were associated with Google+ Events
When you previously deleted your consumer Google+ account or your Google+ page, we informed you that your photos and videos from Google+ wouldn’t be deleted from Album Archive and that your Google+ Events content wouldn’t be deleted. This will also be deleted starting April 2. If you want to save these photos, videos, and event content, download them before April.
G Suite is an integrated suite of collaboration and productivity apps for businesses that includes Gmail, Docs, Drive, Calendar, Hangouts Meet and more. Learn more
If you use Google+ for work or school, you probably have a G Suite account. You can check to see if you have a G Suite account here.
Organizations using G Suite for Education will have the same access as other G Suite customers. If you participate in Google+ communities, please note that some Google+ communities may be impacted as part of the shutdown. For more information about the effect of the shutdown on communities, find details here.
All Google+ APIs will be shut down on March 7, 2019, which includes Google+ Sign-in. Developers should migrate to the more comprehensive Google Sign-in authentication system. This will be a progressive shutdown, with intermittent failures starting as early as January 28, 2019. For more information, see our Google+ API shutdown page.
What if I have more questions?
If you need help or have unanswered questions about your personal Google+ account or your brand account’s Google+ page, you can look for the answer in the official Google+ Help community until April 2019.