How to delete your Dropbox account in 5 simple steps, permanently erasing your files and personal information

By Dave Johnson

If you have subscribed to a paid Dropbox account and no longer want to pay to maintain it, you can cancel your subscription, which returns you the free service (which includes 2GB of storage) – there's no need to do anything else. But if you want to delete your Dropbox account completely, you can do that as well, whether you were using a paid subscription or the free Dropbox service. 

If you choose to delete your Dropbox account, Dropbox will delete all your files from its online servers and remove your account and personal information within about 30 days, so you can no longer sign in to your account. It will also unlink your personal devices from the service and stop all file syncing. 

Any files you had previously placed in shared Dropbox folders that other Dropbox users have access to are not deleted, nor does Dropbox delete or change any files stored on your devices. In addition, if you have the Dropbox app installed on your devices, you will need to uninstall it yourself. 

Deleting your Dropbox account is permanent, so be sure you want to do this before starting. If you've settled on deleting your Dropbox account, here's how to do it. 

Check out the products mentioned in this article:

Apple Macbook Pro (From $1,299.00 at Apple)

Lenovo IdeaPad 130 (From $469.99 at Walmart)

How to delete a Dropbox account

1. Open Dropbox in your browser and sign in to your account.

How to Delete Dropbox 1
You can register with an email and password or login to your account through your Facebook or Google profile.
Abbey White/Business Insider

2. Click your account's avatar in the upper right corner.

How to delete Dropbox 2
Click your avatar.
Abbey White/Business Insider

3. In the dropdown menu, click "Settings."

How to delete Dropbox 3
Click "Settings."
Abbey White/Business Insider

4. Make sure you are on the "General" tab using the navigation menu at the top of the page, and then click "Delete account."

How to delete Dropbox 4
You will need to scroll to the bottom of the account page to see the "Delete account" option.
Abbey White/Business Insider

5. Enter your password and choose a reason for deleting your Dropbox account before clicking "Permanently Delete." 

How to delete Dropbox 5
When you select "Permanently Delete," the action cannot be undone.
Abbey White/Business Insider

Related coverage from Tech Reference:

Insider Inc. receives a commission when you buy through our links.