200 Hour Yoga Teacher Training in Rishikesh India: 200 Hr Yoga TTC 2018

Syllabus 200 Hour Yoga TTC

Starting your yoga journey with Hatha Yoga is a great decision. Hatha Yoga is the mother of all asana styles. Every form of modern yoga takes inspirations from it. Hatha Yoga is the source of all the most important and prevalent techniques. Hatha system was devised to facilitate the awakening of kundalini by balancing opposite forces in the bodies. This transformation is achieved by practicing different parts of yoga including Asana, Pranayama, Mudras, Shatkarma and Laya Yoga.

Shatkarma (Six Cleansing Processes)

A yogi needs a purified and conductive body capable for higher practices and experiences. To make his body free of toxins and impurities, six purification practices has been suggested by yogic scriptures.

According to Hatha Yoga Pradipika these 6 Cleansing processes are:

  1. Neti: nasal cleaning, 2 Varients – jala neti and sutra neti.
  2.  Dhauti: cleansing of the digestive tract.
  3. Nauli: abdominal massage.
  4. Basti: colon cleaning.
  5. Kapalbhati: purification and vitalisation of the frontal lobes.
  6. Trataka: gazing without blinking.

The shatkarmas should always be learned from and practiced under the supervision of an experienced teacher.

Pranayama should be practiced after asana. This is second limb of Hatha Yoga system. In Yoga Sutra, sage Patanjali talks about the importance of pranayama. He says- ततः क्षीयते प्रकाशावरणम्॥ Means: “Pranayama removes covering of light”. By consistent and regular practice of pranayma you will develop a wisdom illuminating vision.

You will learn the following aspects related to pranayama-

  • Awareness of breathing
  • Understanding thoracic and belly breathing
  • Learning natural and deep breathing
  • Kapalbhati
  • Anuloma Viloma (Alternative nostril breathing)
  • Nadi Shodhan (Purification of pranic channels)
  • Bhramari
  • Ujjayi
  • Bhastrika
  • Sheetli
  • Shitkari
  • Tips on how to progress further gradually, keeping in mind the optimal ratio of inhalation, retention and exhalation.

Bandha means to lock, close-off, to stop. In the practice of a Bandha, the energy flow to a particular area of the body is blocked. Bandha is used to force prana to enter into central pranic channel “Shushumna” resulting in deep spiritual experience.

There are four types of Bandhas:

  • Mula Bandha – Anal Lock
  • Uddiyana Bandha – Lifting of the Diaphragm
  • Jalandhara Bandha – Chin Lock
  • Maha Bandha – Practice of all three Bandhas at the same time.

Mudra means “seal,” “gesture,” or “mark.” Yoga mudras are  gestures often practiced with the hands and fingers. It is a certain position of the hand. Mudras are a subtle science of arranging your body in a certain way. They facilitate the flow of energy in the subtle body and enhance one’s journey within.

Some Examples are:

Jnana Mudra, Dhyana mudra, Prana Mudra etc.

Introduction to Yoga Philosophy

Yoga has a profound vision and practical approach towards existence. Patanjali gave a clear idea about the reality and how to realize it through following this discipline.

You will learn all the essential topics from Patanjali Yoga Sutra including –